So why ample and divine?

So I got going on the writing thing a few weeks ago, and the story kind of grew around some characters. I took to writing as and when the mood got me, and I was very surprised when people kept asking for more. After the first few stories got out, and people picked up on themes, I just sat down and started writing. Comments ranged from too long, and some said too short, others asked for more on certain characters. But generally, I simply got to grips with defining my ‘style’ of writing, and putting some kind of order to the story, checking for consistency and looking out for poor spelling and grammar, but not stressing out about it too much. I think I want to use this blog as more of a discussion board, where people can ask me things and where I can interact more on a character level.

I have some new ideas, and maybe I can shout them out here. And get some feedback and even take on some new angles?

OK – I have this plan to evolve the characters over time, intertwining them with a thin golden chord, then taking the stories into the heart of some current issues. Thus far,  I have touched on:

  • Death
  • Violence
  • Homo sexuality
  • Religion
  • Rituals
  • Refugees
  • Crime
  • Cape Town
  • Bo-Kaap
  • District Six
Each of the elements are narrated in the 1st or 3rd person, with some local color thrown in for good measure. I am trying to add local events and places people can relate to, in the hope that when people read my stories(hopefully), and pass a place I talk about in my story, the story will come back. I want to fuse some truth into the fiction, and draw deeply on my personal experiences and people I meet and talk to, and the issues that they are dealing with on a day to day basis. Because its fiction, I can blend truth any way I like to get meaning across and highlight issues I want to spotlight.
I was also thinking of adding photos to the stories to liven it up a little, pictures I take when I go into Town, and see people I can relate to my characters.
I am also going to use this space to write about other things that cross my mind, a sort of safe place to rant, rave and vent when  I feel like it and where the story is sometimes put on hold for a bit.
Oh and I can use this space to play with WordPress themes and plugins and other cool stuff, put up polls and gather some feedback.
One thought on “So why ample and divine?

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

